Evaluating the Nerd

“Jane Tyler is a self-proclaimed nerd seeking to spread knowledge on all things comic book.” @nerdyjanetyler

“Growing up I was surrounded by comics.” My life has been a crazy string of geek culture, starting with card gaming. From there grew my love of comics.

To say comics are only a reading habit would be an understatement. They are part of my identity. It might sound silly to some, but comics helped me when I was going through some bad times. I devoured stories. I picked them apart to find hidden meanings, to find my relationship with the characters.

Some are very human. Some dealt with the same issues as I.

“Peter Parker was like me. He was only a few years older and had issues in school, often called a nerd. More importantly he made mistakes. The death of Uncle Ben is a constant in all Spider-Man universes, showing the mistakes we are capable of and the hardships in the wake of death. From these beginnings came one of the greatest heroes, one of the greatest humans anyone could ask for. Repeatedly he tried to make his city safer, to fight battles others were afraid to fight. In doing so he suffered. He lost family and friends but gained new ones and carried on with life. As he grew I grew and in no time we were the same age, thanks to the nature of comic book aging. The issues he dealt with became more relevant as I navigated high school and dealt with personal loss. He wasn’t Spider-Man, he was Peter Parker, my friend.”

This beat is my beat. All the thoughts I have on comics. All the knowledge I accumulated other the years. Some of it is just repeating events that happened in stories. Most parts are the scholar taking over, analyzing and sharing my thoughts and feelings. Connecting stories together to build a narrative, to build an understanding of characters and struggles.

I do not limit myself to comic books. The movies and shows they spawn are equally important, and how each presents different topics. In cases, the comic book is the best method for telling some stories.

Time is still needed but these are the articles I want to write. I am conveying all the thoughts locked away in my head.

My beat deserves a voice. I just need to work on mine first. I often feel I am not clear. Whether I am writing informational for a wiki page, or discussing why superheroes fear the retcon. My thoughts can be a mess. I think in never ending sentences, and connect dots between information other people do not have. Already I am working on breaking up sentences and thoughts, so other people can follow them.

I am concerned I am too much of a geek. But I don’t want to spend my time explaining every detail. Writing about storylines instead of their meaning.

With my Ender’s Game article, I am uncertain if it makes sense to someone who didn’t read the book. I wound up including a brief summary.

“Ender’s Game, published in 1977 as a short story and novelized in 1986, tells the story of children as they train in a space military school. Their task is to beat the Formics, or buggers, an alien race Earth has already fought wars with.”

Was this even needed? Was it enough?

When I tweeted how “Superheroes fear the retcon” did it make sense? I posted an article shortly after but am concerned I am overlooking a description.

It is probably a concern I will always have. It is reassuring then when I write an article about the comics code am told it is relatable. That it was easy to understand. Thank you Futura.

I want to continue developing my voice. Writing articles on how characters are more human then we think, about the parallels that exist. I want to also discuss manga, for in the global age it is equally important to American comics. These articles may move away from how characters are relatable and look at broader issues. Why are manga arcs longer? What is the relationship to anime? I don’t want to limit myself and want to share all the thoughts I have on comics that are missing online.

 

 

 

One thought on “Evaluating the Nerd

  1. I enjoy your blog Jane, so I have to point out the following. I just went through some of your recent posts and pulled out the following incomplete sentences:

    To learn about his struggles and what makes him human.

    Especially in the age where more re-launches are occurring.

    To learn its achievements and its struggles.

    The title character, named for a Shakespearean character in Hamlet.

    To always seek answers.

    The one where the hero may never recover.

    I also found more instances of passive voice and run-on sentences:

    Definitive conclusions are often demanded in finales and there is anger when there isn’t one. (Who demanded?)

    Many in the industry thought this was a doomed project, even Marvel had doubts, entrusting this new universe to a relatively unknown writer.

    Continue to work on individual sentences that are well constructed and clear. Your ideas and effort deserve them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

